Maybelline Matte Maker Mattifying Powder Review

I love matte skin. Sadly enough, I wasn’t blessed with ‘normal’ skin and therefore I tend to get very oily. Thus, a good powder is a must for me! Hoping my matte dreams become reality, I picked up this pretty powder by Maybelline.

IMG_2453

The packaging is very simple, but it’s a nice compact. No mirrors or brushes here, just a no-nonsense powder- exactly how I like it. It hasn’t broken in any of my bags as of yet, so it’s also quite sturdy.

The first thing that I noticed is the shade selection. I am very pale, there’s barely any colour to my skin anymore, but these powders do go light enough to use. I own the shade 20 ….. and I would say it’s a perfect match for me! Its definitely pigmented and provides a nice light coverage. I love to use this in the morning when I’m in a hurry, just brush it on and your skin tone is just that little bit more even!

IMG_2455
So pretty!

As for the finish, this powder is super matte. I’ve used it both with a BeautyBlender and a regular brush and both give me an amazing finish, the BeautyBlender offering a little more coverage. I think this is one of the mattest pressed powders I’ve ever owned besides my much pricier MAC Blot Powder in Light, which broke in pieces on vacation. I’m so happy I’ve found a good replacement! It doesn’t break me out and clog my pores, neither. On top of foundation, it may look a little cakey when applied with a regular brush, but I don’t really mind. I love that flawless finish and if I want it to be less powdery, I just use a matte setting spray to fix it! I noticed the ‘cakey’ finish may be because I have some hairs on my face and the powder may be getting stuck in it or coating those little hairs, so if you do not have a lot of facial hair the finish may be a little better.

IMG_2458
20 Natural Beige
IMG_2459
Blended!

When putting in my fingers, it also feels really creamy even though it’s just a pressed powder. On my face, it just leaves it matte and slightly covered for a few hours before my oils seeping through. This is a good setting as well as a light coverage powder foundation. I think Maybelline has done an amazing job on this powder and I will certainly repurchase!

The Maybelline Matte Maker Mattifying powder can be bought from the drugstore for €9,99.

6 thoughts on “Maybelline Matte Maker Mattifying Powder Review

Let's interact. :)

